Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) and CLL patients

Statement of the CLL Advocates Network

CLL Advocates Network is closely monitoring the strategies being implemented in various countries to manage the COVID-19 virus. Much of the information about COVID-19 does not address the concerns of people with chronic lymphocytic leukaemia (CLL). With this statement, we wish to fill this gap and provide extra advice for CLL patients.
Most resources agree that the following individuals are at increased risk of severe or fatal COVID-19:

  • Older adults (60+ yrs.)
  • Individuals with coexisting chronic illnesses (e.g. chronic lung or heart diseases)
  • People contracting secondary infections

The following are at high risk of severe or fatal COVID-19:

  • Immunosuppressed individuals

CLL patients – whether treated or not, young or old – are immune depressed. Treatment can add to the immune deficiency. In view of the foregoing, CLL patients are therefore at high risk of getting COVID-19 and having more severe symptoms than the general population.

The full statement is currently available in the following languages:

Further languages will follow.

If you can help translate the statement into your respective language, we would be grateful for support. Please contact us at info@clladvocates.net to ask for the editable files.

Make sure to also tag us in your communication on Facebook and Twitter with @CLLAdvocates

Tip: 2nd Virtual Community Meeting
on COVID-19 for CLL patients

This Friday, 3 April at 20:00 CET

2:00 pm ET / 1:00 pm CT / 12:00 pm MT / 11:00 am PT

The CLL Society is facilitating this second COVID-19 Virtual Community Meeting for CLL patients and caregivers to engage in a question-and-answer town hall format with a panel of CLL experts, to discuss issues around COVID-19 for CLL patients.

 

We highly recommend to join this meeting! For more information
and to register, please click here.

The recording & slides of the first CLL Society´s webinar on March 27 can be accessed here.
Dr. Anthony Mato, Dr. Danielle M. Brander, Dr. Susan J. Leclair, Dr. Brian Koffman and Pharmacist Tom Henry were the generous and helpful panelists.

Our Mission

  • Improve CLL patient outcomes as a global network of CLL patient advocates.
  • The guiding principles of the CLLAN:
    – Act as an international collective representative of CLL patient advocates
    – Develop tools to empower advocates to support their local CLL communities
    – Share best practices
    – Advocate for better care and access
    – Aid in the development of CLL specific support in all countries

Please note that Individual support to patients and their loved ones remains in the scope of the national or regional advocacy associations and advocates.

© 2020 – CLL Advocates Network

Website handcrafted by Lawrence Mouawad